Musicians and singers from the Shippensburg Area School District and Shippensburg University gave a night to remember during “An Evening of Jazz” Monday at the Luhrs Performing Arts Center at Shippensburg University. 

Parents, grandparents, family members, school staff, and guests packed the hall to enjoy the incredible music. It was estimated that between 400 and 500 people attended the event, according to Deb Hendrix Taylor of the Luhrs Center.

Appearing on stage were the GBLUES Chorus, The Accidentals, The Sharps, 6th Grade Jazz Band, Jazz Hounds, High School Jazz Band, and the Shippensburg University Jazz Band.

As each group concluded their music, a huge applause was given by everyone in attendance.

The event partnered with The Greyhound Foundation to help raise funds for large music projects needed in the Shippensburg school district.

“Jazz is one of the few styles of music that originated in this country, and we in the Shippensburg Area School District have the privilege of teaching and encouraging our students in this unique style that is such an important part of who we are as Americans. Tonight’s concert is one of the highlights of our students’ year and we are excited to share it with you! The students, directors, and several volunteers have worked hard to prepare a concert that we hope will inspire and excite you. So, sit back, relax and enjoy the phenomenal talent of the students from the Shippensburg Area School District and the SU Jazz Band,” the program introduction reads.

The program cover was designed by Emily McMichael, a 2015 Shippensburg high school grad. She created both the trumpet graphic and the typographic design for the Evening of Jazz when she was a junior. The trumpet was hand-drawn in India ink and the poster layouts and typography were created using Adobe Illustrator. They were designed in the high school’s Digital Graphic Design class.


The event began with members of the 6th Grade Jazz Band, directed by Mark Wilson. They performed “Joy to the World,” by Hoyt Axton/Arranged by John Berry; “Nobody’s Perfect,” by Matthew Gerard and Robbie Nevil/Arranged by Rick Stitzel; and “Crazy Train” by Ozzy Osbourne/Arranged by Paul Murtha. Members of the band include: Zachary Barber, Delaney Gilbert, Kelly Corbin and Christian Pimentel on alto saxophone; La’niyah Coleman, Joel Heberlig and Jacob Pensinger on tenor saxophone; Cayden Weist on baritone sax; Cody Cella on guitar; Kaitlyn Kipe, Leann Lamonica, Rebecca Shubert and Liliana Wenger on flute; Sara Cramer, Ella Jones, Elizabeth Kenyon, Kayla Kirby and Katara Smith on clarinet; Micah Lyons and Alexander Smeltz on trombone; Wyatt Knepper on bass; Kaitlyn Hicks, Ava Weaver, Lyric Williams and Ivan Zook on trumpet; Lily Kell on French horn; Breanne Rotz on keyboard/vibes; and Madison Goodhart, Nathaniel Goodhart, Alisha Hines and Xavier Rodriguez on drums.

Next the GBLUES Chorus, directed by Emilie Stuart, performed “All Jazzed Up,” by Mile Wilson; and “It Don’t Mean A Thing (If It Ain’t Got That Swing)” by Duke Ellington and Irving Mills/Arranged by Tom Anderson.

Members of the chorus include: soloist, Mya Murphy; trio, Kaylie Shope, Anna Connor and Eunice Hwang; fourth-graders, Angelica Brown, Sophie Bryant, River Burrows, Collin Dupy, Eunice Hwang; Grace Morton, Addison Powell, Daniel Rhinehart, Elizabeth Robinson, Scarlet Seiders, Kaylie Shope, Ava Smith, Malia Stouffer, Jacob Wiest and Emma Wildermuth; and fifth-graders, Anthony Byers, Drew Callaghan, Anna Connor, Max Galluzzo, Della Hawkins, Kaylee Kierzkowski, Isabella Kyle, Ida Langella, Anna Massara, Mya Murphy, Brooklyn Powell, Caroline Rogers, Amir Saand, Jaxon Smith and Hazel Thomason.

The 7th and 8th Grade Jazz Hounds directed by Jennifer Enders then performed “Chase Scene” by George Shutack; “Double or Nothing” by Mike Lewis; and “Can’t Stop the Feeling,” Arranged by John Wasson.

Members of the Jazz Hounds include: Abby Saboe and Joshua Stake on alto sax; Cassie Mentzer, Kyleigh Ochs, Kristin Thompson and Madison Davis on flute; Ethan Watts and Aaron Culbertson on trombone; Leah Brichter on piano; Colin Krause on tenor sax; Jaeden Forsythe on clarinet; Vance Kunkle on euphonium; Daniel Kennedy, Rylan Morris and Aaron Gesell on percussion; Natalie Spicka on tuba; Donovan Yaukey, Bryce Russell, Parker Shuman, Ryan Martin, Keegan Kissinger and Caitlin Carr on trumpet; Rachel Sidella on keyboard bass; and William Breaux on guitar.

The Accidentals, directed by John Piper, then performed “Basin Street Blues,” by Spencer Williams (soloist-Olivia Bailey); “Embraceable You,” by George and Ira Gershwin/Arranged by Kirby Shaw; and “Route 66,” by Bobby Troup/Arranged by Roger Emerson.

Members of the Accidentals include: Altos, Olivia Bailey, Leah Brichter, Brooke Commerer, Kyla Jones, Alyvia Kyle, Mallory Lohman, Natalie Spicka and Zoe Wewer; Sopranos, Cassie Mentzer, Lauren Miller, Kyleigh Ochs, Kira Shirk, Rachel Sidella, Natalie Spicka, Janelle Staver and Kristin Thompson; Baritones, Lex Butler, Clayton Diehl, Noah Eveland, Owen Madamba, Cole Pearson, Calvin Powell and Donovan Yaukey. Accompanist was Miss Michaela Cameron.

The High School Jazz Band, directed by Robert Maag, then performed, “Diggin’ The Dorian,” by Richard Linton, and “Hip to be Square,” by Huey Lewis/Arranged by Paul Lavender.

Members of the High School Jazz Band include: Bailey Renfrew and Alena Casella on alto sax; Cole Souders and Holly Smith on tenor sax; Noah Stewart on baritone sax; trombones/baritones Calvin Prowant, Jimmy Logan, Ashlee Rowles and Kyle Buchheister; Anthony Casella, Seth Sjoberg, Nick Bowers and Travis Bigham on trumpet; Michaela Cameron on piano; Gabe Brandt on guitar; John Stewart on bass; Jacob Hardy and Connor Hammond on drums; and Sierra Mower on flute.

The Sharps, directed by Jennifer Deibler, performed, “I’ve Never Been in Love Before,” by Frank Loesser/Arranged by Kirby Shaw; “Build Me Up Buttercup,” by Tony McCauley and Michael D’Abo/Arranged by Sean Conor Anderson; and “Sing, Sing, Sing,” by Louis Prima/Arranged by Mark Brymer.

Members of The Sharps include: Sopranos, Tiarra Husband, Alyssa Kelso and Leah Staver; Altos, Natalie Crawford, Madelin Madamba and Margaret Spicka; Tenors Luke Lyman, Noah Stewart and Jeremy Telesky; Bass, Zachary Levy, Cole Souders and John Stewart; and Accompanists, Michaela Cameron and Zoe Burkholder.

The Shippensburg University Jazz Ensemble capped the show off with a variety of selections, directed by Trever Famulare.

Members of the SU Jazz Ensemble include: Kerri Loy and Derrick Atkins on alto sax; Jimmy Smith and Zach Davis on tenor sax; Bradley Davis on baritone sax; Matthew Zeroba on piano; Seth Aungst and Maxwell Stephens on drums; Maggie Myers, Geoffrey Browell, Maria Trace and Jon Bergmueller on trumpet; Chris Astuti on guitar; vocals by Mackenzie Brouse and Hannah Famulare; Justin Fenn, Chris Atkins, Joe Naughton, Zsofia Kandrot and Koby Bragunier on trombone; and Amelia Rhoads on bass.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.