Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2019

‘Assault’ by Richard Huck is featured in the exhibition Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2019 at The State Museum of Pennsylvania, Harrisburg. This exhibition runs from Sunday, June 23, to Sunday, Sept. 8.

Finalists have been announced for Art of the State: Pennsylvania 2019.

Art of the State is an annual juried exhibition that has been showcasing the work of Pennsylvania’s artists at The State Museum of Pennsylvania since 1968. The body of art that has been exhibited reflects over a half-century of creative endeavor in the Keystone State. Through the years, exhibitors have shared their ideas and engaged viewers in the categories of painting, photography, craft, sculpture, and work on paper.

The 52nd annual exhibit opens to the public on Sunday, June 23, at The State Museum of Pennsylvania with an awards ceremony at 1:30 p.m., and an opening reception immediately following. Admission to The State Museum will be free that day.

The exhibit runs through Sept. 8, and includes 110 works of art by 103 artists from 35 counties. Finalists were selected from 2,170 entries. The closing coincides with Harrisburg’s popular Gallery Walk.

Selection jurors reviewed and rated all artwork submitted. Those with the highest ratings in each category are featured in the exhibition. The awards juror will determine the prize winners in each of the categories. This year’s selection jurors are: Janet Koplos, contributing editor of “Art in America;” Rachelle Mozman Solano, artist; and Marin R. Sullivan, art historian and curator.

Koplos has written extensively on American, Japanese and Dutch contemporary art. An Honorary Fellow of the American Crafts Council, Koplos has published articles, reviews and essays in dozens of periodicals over the last 30 years.

The daughter of Panamanian immigrants, Solano creates art that is deeply informed by her clinical work in psychoanalysis. A Fulbright Fellow, Solano has exhibited at the National Portrait Gallery of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, D.C, the Americas Society in New York, and the National Hispanic Cultural Center in New Mexico.

Sullivan's interests focus on the histories of modern and contemporary sculpture and its interdisciplinary, intermedial dialogues with photography, design and the built environment. Sullivan most recently served as assistant professor of art history at Keene State College in New Hampshire.

This year’s awards juror is Joyce Henri Robinson, assistant director at the Palmer Museum of Art. Robinson has organized more than 60 exhibitions and authored catalogs in the fields of contemporary art, photography, American art and studio glass. Robinson has published articles and presented on topics such as contemporary art, African American art, and 19th-century French art.

More than $7,000 in cash awards will be presented at an opening reception at The State Museum on Sunday, June 23. A first prize of $500, second prize of $300, and third prize of $200 will be awarded in each of the five categories. The William D. David Memorial Award for Drawing, in the amount of $250, will also be presented.

The State Museum will select one of the pieces of art for its permanent collection, awarding the artist a $2,000 Purchase Prize. An Art Docents’ Choice Award of $250 will also be presented.

Art of State is presented by The State Museum of Pennsylvania in association with the Pennsylvania Heritage Foundation. The media sponsor is WITF Public Media.

The Pennsylvania Heritage Foundation is the nonprofit partner of the Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission, the state agency charged with collecting, preserving, researching and interpreting the treasures of Pennsylvania. Through private contributions, PHF supports PHMC in protecting and providing access to 24 historic sites and museums, approximately 9 million objects, and more than 250 million archival items.

The State Museum of Pennsylvania, adjacent to the State Capitol in Harrisburg, is one of 24 historic sites and museums administered by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission as part of the Pennsylvania Trails of History. The State Museum offers expansive collections interpreting Pennsylvania’s fascinating heritage. With exhibits examining the dawn of geologic time, the Native American experience, the Colonial and Revolutionary eras, a pivotal Civil War battleground, and the commonwealth's vast industrial age, The State Museum demonstrates that Pennsylvania's story is America's story.

For more information about the museum, visit: or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Artists selected to exhibit at the 2019 “Art of the State” competition listed by county:

Adams County

Sarah Becker

Allegheny County

Christopher Boring

Diane Grguras

Ron Korczynski

Sandra Moore

Dai Morgan

Brian Sesack

Paige Tibbe

Bedford County

Heather Davis

Berks County

Linda Aragon

Brian Glaze

Dale Parson

Steve Scheuring

E. Douglas Wunder

Bucks County

Jean Burdick

Cassaunda Flor

Jennifer Rubin Garey

Amedeo Salamoni

Sandra Scicchitani

Yelena Strokin

Cambria County

Kathleen Burk

Chester County

James Evangelista

Barbara Grant

Rafael Henin and Garrick Dorsett

Booyoung Lee

Constance McBride

Columbia County

Michael Kuznicki

Crawford County

Malcolm Christhilf

Tyler Stanton

Cumberland County

Donna Berk Barlup

Lisa Bennett

Linda Benzon

Sarah Frotscher

Brenton Good

Rich Harrison

Gay McGeary

Michael Munchel

Quay San

Louise Thomas

Theodore Van Pelt

Irene VanBuskirk

Rosanne Wolfe

Dauphin County

Amie Bantz

Karen Commings

Amy LeFever

Kirsten Olson

Delaware County

Laura Ducceschi

Sienna Proetto

Keith Sharp

Erie County

Geoffrey Beadle

Fred Scruton

Fayette County

Bill Snyder

Indiana County

Chuck Olson

Jefferson County

Kyle Yates

Lackawanna County

Elizabeth Hartman

Peter Hoffer

Lancaster County

Denny Bond

Amy Edwards

Teri Hay

Jennifer MacNeill

Virginia Pollock

Sue Reno

Brant Schuller

Gene Shaw

Lebanon County

Mary Ann Charles

Isaac Pelepko

Lehigh County

Richard Begbie

Pouran Esrafily

Luzerne County

Debbie Baer

Richard Huck

Lycoming County

David Moyer

Monroe County

James Gwynne

Montgomery County

Robert Arnosky

Charles Brenna

Meg Constable

Terri Fridkin

Northampton County

Eleanor Shelton

Northumberland County

Chris Mathias

Sanh Tran


Gregory Brellochs

Eleanor Day

Lexus Gore

Miriam Marshall

Diane Pepe

Brian Skalaski

Hanna Vogel

Janine Wang

Schuylkill County

Valerie Perez-Prosick

Robert Stickloon

Somerset County

Margaret Black

Sullivan County

Betsy Kleinsasser

Susquehanna County

John Meza

Tioga County

Randy Owen

Westmoreland County

Paul Sirofchuck

Lauren Scavo-Fulk

Wyoming County

Staci Srebro

Michelle Thomas

York County

Paul Chaplin

Philip Colgan

Teresa Griffin

Kathy T. Hettinga

Richard Chandler Hoff

Thomas Notarangelo

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.